Our Governors


Here you’ll find a list of school governors here at St Paul’s CE Primary School. Each is listed with their role for 2020/21 shown besides.

Miss J Wood Foundation (Chair)
Mrs A Darlington Community (Vice Chair)
Mrs J Tyers Headteacher
Mr D Saunders Community
Miss J Hargreaves Local Authority
Cllr A Humphreys Local Authority
Mr M Dyson Foundation
Mrs S Hughes Parent
Rev L Battye Foundation
Register of personal, pecuniary or business interests


All the governors and associate members of St Paul’s listed below have signed the Register of personal, pecuniary or business interests

Miss J Wood COG
Miss J Hargreaves  
Mr M Dyson  
Mrs A Darlington


Rev. L Battye

Mr D Saunders

Mrs S Hughes

Mrs J Tyers Head
Councillor A Humphries  


This is a declaration of any personal or business interest they or any relative or person closely connected with them, have with businesses or other organisations that may have dealings with the school. This could for example include owning or having a relative work for a business that had dealings with school; having a relative working in or for school or being a governor of another school.

If any interest a governor has could be seen to cause a conflict of interest they would be asked to withdraw from any decision making concerned. This is to ensure that our governors can always be seen to be putting the interest of the school first.

If there is a potential conflict it is shown in the table. This table also shows the category of governor each person is, any specific role on the governing body and the committees they are members of.

More information about the requirements to complete and sign the Register of personal, pecuniary or business interests can be found on Salford City Council’s Governor Services web pages at http://www.salford.gov.uk/schoolgovernors.htm where you will also find the links to all the other local authority’s (LA) governing bodies’ personal, pecuniary or business interests registers.

The different categories of governors on our governing body are:

  • parent governors who have a child in school at the time of their election, and are elected by the parents with children at the school;
  • staff governors who are members of staff at the school and are elected by their colleagues;
  • co-opted governors are appointed on to the governing body by the other members because they come from a specialist group, such as the business community or because they possess a particular skill which can contribute to the effective governance and success of the school;
  • local authority(LA) governors who are nominated by the local councillor and appointed by the governing body;
  • the Headteacher (HT) is also a member of the governing body by right of the position they hold in the school;
  • associate members are not actually governors but can be appointed to serve on committees and attend meetings of the full governing body. They do not have the right to vote at meetings of the full governing body but may been given voting rights on the committees that they are a member of, but these rights can only be given by the governing body.

The different committees our governing body has are:

  • Finance & Staffing
  • Buildings/Health and Safety
  • School Effectiveness

There are also separate disciplinary and appeals committees which are convened if they are required all committee members are eligible for this committee is required.

Name of governor/


associate member

Term of office Governor type Details of specific roles held on the GB Committee membership



Has signed the register Details of any conflicting interest


·         business/work

·         relationships

·         governor of another school

Miss J Wood Expires



Foundation COG ·   Staffing /Finance Yes None
Miss J Hargreaves






Community H & S ·   Staffing /Finance


·   Buildings/Health & Safety

Yes None
Mrs J Tyers Expires




Staff SEN




·   Staffing /Finance


·   Buildings/Health & Safety

·   School Effectiveness

Yes None
Mr M Dyson Expires



Foundation   ·   Staffing/Finance Yes None
Rev. L Battye Expires



Foundation SG ·   Buildings/Health & Safety Yes None
Mr D Saunders Expires



Community   ·  Buildings/Health & Safety



Yes None
Mrs A Darlington Expires



Community Vice Chair ·   School Effectiveness Yes None


Mrs A Humphries




LA   ·   School Effectiveness


·   Buildings/Health & Safety

Yes None
Mrs S Hughes Expires



Parent   ·   School Effectiveness Yes Yes – Relationship




Files to Download


St Paul's C.E. Primary School

Nevile Road, Salford, M7 3PT

Tel: 0161 921 2065

Executive Headteacher: Mrs J Tyers

Contact: Mrs T Kehoe or Mrs D Johnstone